PACIFIC COUNTY — June 10 marked the last day for local candidates to file their intentions to run for public office. Seventy-seven candidates have filed, but the only local contested races appear to be for a Long Beach City Council position, a hospital commission seat, and a North Beach Water District Commission opening.

For Ilwaco City Council, Don Berger has filed for the #2 seat and Gary Forner for the #5 seat. 

In Long Beach, Steven Linhart has filed for City Council Member #1, Mark Perez and Rhonda Benson will campaign for the #2 spot, and Del Murray will run for City Council Member #3. Mayor Bob Andrew is running unopposed.

For Pacific County Fire District No. 1, Tom Downer has filed for the Fire Commissioner #3 spot. In Pacific County Fire District No. 2, Leslie Colvin has filed for Fire Commissioner #2, and Dale Hughes has filed for Fire Commissioner #3. Over at Pacific County Fire District No. 4 in Naselle, John Alves, Jr., has filed for the Fire Commissioner #3 slot.

For Ocean Beach School District, Marilyn Sheldon has withdrawn her name from running for the School Director #1 position. Kathy Mathews is running for the slot unopposed. Kim Patten and Sandra Stonebreaker have filed for School Director #2 and #5, respectively. 

In Naselle-Grays River Valley School District, Robert Torppa has filed for School Director #1, Hollis Fletcher has filed for School Director #3, and Edmund Darcher for School Director #5.

At local ports, Ken Greenfield has filed for Port of Chinook Commissioner #3; Dave Nichols for Ilwaco Port Commissioner #2; Les Swensen for Ilwaco Port Commissioner #3; and Cindy Bade for Port of Peninsula Commissioner #2.

DeWayne LaPointe and Nancy Gorshe will campaign for the Hospital Commissioner #1 spot. 

For the Chinook Water District, Charles Stuart has filed for Water Commissioner #1, Stewart Simonson for Water Commissioner #2, and Kenneth Osborne for Water Commissioner #3. 

Gwen Brake and Glenn Ripley will campaign for North Beach Water District Commissioner #2.

In Sewer District 1, Brett Malin has filed for Sewer Commissioner #1 and Randall Lofstrom has filed for Sewer Commissioner #2. 

To see who else has filed for the upcoming    election, log onto

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.