OLYMPIA — The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission will again offer 12 free days next year, in which day-use visitors won’t need a Discover Pass to visit state parks by vehicle. The first free day of 2021 is New Year’s Day, Jan. 1.

State Parks free days are in keeping with 2011 legislation that created the Discover Pass, which costs $30 annually or $10 for a one-day visit. The pass is required for vehicle access to state recreation lands managed by Washington State Parks, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Department of Natural Resources.

The Discover Pass legislation directed State Parks to designate up to 12 free days when the pass would not be required to visit state parks. The free days apply only at state parks; the Discover Pass is still required on WDFW and DNR lands.

State Parks, in coordination with WDFW, will once again offer a free day on Sunday, June 13, as part of WDFW’s Free Fishing Weekend. This day, combined with the June 12 free day for National Get Outdoors Day, will give visitors an entire weekend to explore state parks for free.

The 2021 State Parks free days are:

Friday, Jan. 1 — First Day Hikes; New Year’s Day

Monday, Jan. 18 — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Friday, March 19 — State Parks’ 108th Birthday

Saturday, April 3 — Springtime free day

Thursday, April 22 — Earth Day

Saturday, June 5 — National Trails Day

Saturday, June 12 — National Get Outdoors Day

Sunday, June 13 — Free Fishing Day

Wednesday, Aug. 25 — National Park Service Birthday

Saturday, Sept. 25 — National Public Lands Day

Thursday, Nov. 11 — Veterans Day

Friday, Nov. 26 — Autumn free day

Recommended for you

(0) entries

Sign the guestbook.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.