NASELLE - The members of the Naselle High School Class of 2008 received many scholarships which were awarded to the seniors either at the Evening of Excellence program or during the commencement exercises held Saturday, June 7. School counselor Justin Laine announced that the seniors had earned well over $200,000 in scholarships.

Scholarships awarded through the Naselle Education Foundation (NEF): Sylvia Herrold -Emma Holm Memorial, Jamie Gilbert - Peggy Busse Memorial, Ryan Rangila - H. Robert Johnson Memorial, Kevin Maki - Rueben Penttila Memorial, Cody Gilbert - Ron Holm Memorial, Whitney Cooper - Margaret Hill Memorial; Narci Carlson - NEF, Jessica Sawtell - Wahkiakum West, Chanel Ruch - Wahkiakum West, Kyle Burkhalter - Carson Burkhalter Memorial; NEF awarded Derby Dollars for Scholars Scholarships (DDFS) to: Kyle Burkhalter - Harry Thornberg Memorial - DDFS, Jessica Sawtell - Bud and Dot Micklesen - DDFS, Elsa Butchart - DDFS, Whitney Cooper - DDFS, Kevin Maki - DDFS, Sylvia Herrold - DDFS, Narci Carlson - DDFS, Patrick Robinson - DDFS.

Scholarships awarded through NEF also went to: Kyle Burkhalter - Lyle and Elaine Patterson Tribute, Sylvia Herrold - Lyle and Elaine Patterson Tribute, Ashley Ahlstrom - Jacob and Wilhelmina Pakenen Memorial, Ashley Ahlstrom - Helen Jones Memorial, Stephanie Wise - The Bank of the Pacific Naselle Branch, Haley Kaercher - John and Pearl Doll Memorial, Tiana Witwer - John and Pearl Doll Memorial, Jason Gradt - John and Pearl Doll Memorial, Kevin Maki - Hancock Forest Management;

Other organization scholarships to: Narci Carlson - Covered Bridge, Kyle Burkhalter - Covered Bridge, Chanel Ruch - Agnes Appelo Memorial, Haley Kaercher - Berniece J. Appelo Memorial, Haley Kaercher - Mark Linquist Memorial, Jessica Sawtell - Sorenson Transportation, Whitney Cooper - Freddie Hatfield Memorial, Kyle Burkhalter - WIAA District IV Athletic Directors, Stephanie Wise - Martha Circle of the Naselle Congregational Church; Kevin Maki - Naselle Congregational Chuch, Ashley Ahlstrom - Local IWA, Sy;via Herrold - Bobbitt Hall Memorial, Kyle Burkhalter - Ralph and Marie McGough Memorial, Kyle Burkhalter - Wahkiakum Dollars for Scholars, Chanel Ruch - Naselle Assembly of God Youth Group, Chanel Ruch - Naselle Assembly of God Church, Stephanie Wise - Naselle Lutheran Church, Narci Carlson - Naselle Lutheran Church, Narci Carlson - Naselle Lions Club, Kevin Maki - Naselle Lions Club, Narci Carlson - Pacific County Sheriff;s Department, Kevin Maki - Ben Bellefuille Memorial, Kevin Maki - Alpha Theta of the ESA, Ryan Rangila - Alpha Theta of the ESA, Kyle Burkhalter - Friends of the Willapa National Wildlife Refuge, Stephanie Wise - Pacific County Democrats; Success Grants from Clatsop Community College (Renewable for six terms): Tiana Witmer, Jamie Gilbert, Elsa Butchart, Ryan Rangila, Whitney Cooper, Chanel Ruch, Jessica Sawtell, Kevin Maki, Jason Gradt, Logan Hazen, Cody Gilbert, Brandi Keightley.

Other college and university scholarships went to: Stephanie Wise - Baylor University - President's Gold Scholarship (4 years), Stephanie Wise - Baylor University additional scholarship (4 years), Sylvia Herrold - Seattle Pacific University Academic Merit Scholarship (4 years), Sylvia Herrold - Seattle Pacific University Athletic Achievement (4 years), Sylvia Herrold - Western Oregon University Athletic Scholarship (4 years), Sylvia Herrold - Western Oregon University Academic Merit Scholarship (4 years).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.