PACIFIC COUNTY — Many South Pacific County elections will be uncontested for the Nov. 5 general election.

Candidate filing ended at 4 p.m. on Friday, May 17. Positions were available for judges, city councils, ports, school districts, fire districts, hospital districts, and water and sewer districts.


Court of Appeals Judge Anne Cruser will serve another three-year term. Pacific and Wahkiakum Superior Court Judge Donald Richter will run for a one-year term against Michael Turner.

City councils

In Ilwaco, Matthew Lessnau and Kristen Mathison will each serve another four years. Kenneth Sprague, who joined the council by appointment in 2018, didn’t file in time. His seat has a remaining two-year term. The council also has a vacancy for Jared Oakes’ previous seat, which he resigned from earlier this year.

Long Beach Mayor Jerry Phillips, Councilor Tina McGuire and Councilor Del Murry will each serve another four years. Donald McGuire Jr. and Sue Svendsen will run against each other for Steven Linhart’s council seat.

School districts

Don Zuern will retain his Ocean Beach School District seat for another four years. He will be joined by Anna Taft and John Holtermann, who both filed for unopposed seats. Taft and Holtermann will take over Kathy Mathews’ and Mike Robinson’s seats.

In Naselle, Chuck Hendrickson will serve another four-year term. No one filed for Nick Nikkila’s seat.


Gary Kobes will serve another six years for the Port of Chinook. Steve Newell and Butch Smith will serve another six years for the Port of Ilwaco.

Fire districts

Incumbent Fire District #1 Commissioner Dennis Long will face challenger Steve Kovach in Ocean Park.

In Chinook, Leslie Colvin and Allen Wainamo will each serve another term for Fire District #2. Clifford Kilponen will serve another term for Fire District #4 in Naselle.


Sandy Stonebreaker will serve another six years on the Ocean Beach Hospital Commission. Ariel Smith will take over Steven Linhart’s commission seat for a six-year term.

Water, sewer districts

Water district commissioners Jacob Moore (Chinook) and Glenn Ripley (North Beach) will each serve another six years.

Seaview Sewer District Commissioner Candy Glenn will also serve another six years.


There will be a period in August when candidates will have an opportunity to sign up for offices for which no one else filed. All candidates must be registered voters and meet residency requirements. Questions about filing for the 2019 election can be directed to the Pacific County Auditor’s Elections Department at 360-875-9317.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.