ILWACO - Lady Fishermen Alexa Wirkkala was honored to be on the second-team all-Trico League volleyball team and Kenzi Wirkkala received honorable mention by the league's coaches. Tierney Uhlenkott was tabbed as Trico MVP for district champion Castle Rock and teammates Maddi Seidl, Macee Utech and Megan Moore are on the first team, as are Ridgefield's Kylie Hochhalter and Erin Bate, and Kalama's Samantha Boatman and Maggi Aschoff.

Tarabochia first team all-Pacific, Comets honored on all-academic NASELLE - Nicole Tarabochia was honored to be on the first-team all-Pacific 2B League list for her strong hitting, accurate serving, and all-around hustle for the Naselle Comets. Taylor Wasmundt (4.00 grade point average), Ciara Sandell (3.96), and Amber Wirkkala (3.81) were tabbed for the all-academic squad that requires a 3.70 GPA or above.

Receiving honorable mention for the all-league team for the Comets were Haleigh See, Wasmundt and Carley Kitzman. Jennessa Offutt of Northwest Christian was the Pacific's MVP and teammates Michaela Kier and Kelsey Minton joined Tarabochia on the first team. South Bend's Chelsea Dockter and Olivia Nisbet, Raymond's Mallory Maneman and Paige Oatfield, Valley's Vanessa Redding, and North Beach's Tahnee McCrory were also named to the all-league squad that was chosen by the coaches.

Ilwaco's Short all-Trico first-team lineman ILWACO - Dylan Short was one of five all-Trico League first-team offensive linemen chosen by the vote of the coaches. Josh Berteaux was named to the second-team as a defensive back for the Fishermen. Short was honorable mention as a linebacker and Skyler Olson was honorable mention as an Ilwaco running back.

Bobby Byrd was the leader for the Fishermen on the all-academic Trico League squad with a 3.84 grade point average. Also on the all-academic team were Elliot Marcus (3.35), Short (3.08) and Taylor Odneal (3.00).

Six Comets named all-league football NASELLE - Seth Scrabeck was tabbed as a first-team all-Pacific League offensive lineman, Nick Zimmerman was named to the defensive line, and Dustin Eaton earned first-team honors as a linebacker. Honorable mention to the all-league team went to Leo Mendoza, Chandler Chapman, Robert Eaton and Ryley Queener.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.