Comets earn honorable mention on league football team

<I>MARILYN STRANGE photo</I><BR>NHS football players Aoy Marion, Jason Gradt and Kyle Burkhalter received honorable mention on the Pacific B League All-League team.

SOUTH BEND - Four members of the Naselle Comets football team received honorable mention on the Pacific B League's all league team as voted by the league's coaches.

Those NHS players receiving the honor included: Gavin Maxwell, senior, for defensive play as a linebacker, Aoy Marion, junior, for defensive play as a defensive back, Jason Gradt, freshman, for defensive play as a linebacker, and Kyle Burkhalter, freshman, for both offensive play as a quarterback and defensive play as a defensive back.

The first team offensive players selected included: Neil Boyce, OL, Tacoma Baptist senior; Dusty Sturgeon, OL, North Beach junior; Kyle Schmidtke, OL, Tacoma Baptist junior; Zach Kaech, OL, Willapa Valley senior; Ramiro Garcia, OL, South Bend junior; Ryan Freeman, TE, Willapa Valley junior; Jeff Gudaitis, WR, Tacoma Baptist junior; Lance Anderson, WR, Willapa Valley junior; A. J. Johnson, RB, Tacoma Baptist senior; Brett Tolon, RB, North Beach senior; Ryee Cline, RB, Tacoma Baptist junior; Kavin Williams, QB, North Beach senior; and Sean Martinson, K, South Bend junior. Kavin Williams was honored as the league's offensive MVP.

The defensive first team included: Neil Boyce, DL, Tacoma Baptist senior; Robert Coates, DL, Willapa Valley senior; Kyle Schmidtke, DL, Tacoma Baptist junior; Zach Kaech, DL, Willapa Valley senior; David Alford, LB, Tacoma Baptist senior; Brett Tolon, LB, North Beach senior; Rob Stigall, LB, South Bend senior; Kelly Corey, LB, Willapa Valley junior; Kavin Williams, DB, North Beach senior; Jeff Gudaitis, DB, Tacoma Baptist junior; Ricky Bannish, DB, Willapa Valley sophomore; Mitch Runge, P, Raymond senior. Neil Boyce of Tacoma Baptist was selected as the defensive MVP.

The Pacific B League Football Coach of the Year was Dan Oppelt of North Beach High School. The Pacific B League Sportsmanship Award for football went to South Bend High School.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.