RIDGEFIELD - Ilwaco boys cross country rolled to their sixth consecutive first-place finish at Ridgefield Thursday in a five-team meet against quality 2A competitors.

Derek Duffy raced to second place in 17:26 over the 3.1 mile course to lead the undefeated Fishermen. John Hayes continued to impress, claiming fourth place in 17:49 and Shaun Peterson ran 18:18, good enough for 10th place.

Scott Fagerland came home in 14th (18:29) and Dylan Wirkkala rounded out Ilwaco's scoring with 18th place (19:02). Mike Huitt was 25th in a time of 19:48 and Luke Jensen earned 33rd in 22:20 among 57 runners.

Only three runners participated for the Lady Fishermen, with Kari Knutzen finishing eighth in a time of 23:57. Meredith Jensen covered the course in 24:42 and finished 11th, and Elaina Erola got 15th in 26:49. There were 23 ladies competing.

Ilwaco junior high boys were victorious in the meet, led by Matt Kaino's fourth-place time of 12:59 for the 1.7-mile course. Stephan Berglund was close behind in sixth place (13:19), Robert Gibbons was seventh (13:50), Ricky Alm 10th (14:58) and Kyle Huitt finished 11th (15:41).

The Lady Fishermen junior high runners were led by Kat Oja's winning time of 13:22, and Monica Milner finished very well in third place in 14:40. According to Coach Joe Williams, eight runners were ill and not able to compete in the junior high races.

The varsity boys and girls will compete Thursday at Castle Rock for the Trico League Championship.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.