ILWACO - On March 13, coach Tom Hornbuckle handed out special awards and varsity letters to the 2002-03 wrestling team from Ilwaco.

Matt Bonney was chosen as Most Outstanding, Jake Pederson was the Tough Guy winner, and Bobby Crislip walked away with the Most Improved award.

The following wrestlers earned their IHS varsity letter: David Alvarez, Bobby Crislip, Ray Coulston, Sean Brady, Derek Duffy, Jerry Matzen, Jake Pedersen, Isaac Mendez and Matt Bonney.

"Congratulations go to the team for a successful season based on hard work and dedication," said coach Tom Hornbuckle. "The members who gave their effort were rewarded with a sense of personal accomplishment.

"The IHS wrestling team issues a challenge to the students to become a part of a very demanding sport that can provide the participants with strength of character that will be an asset as an adult."

Hornbuckle concluded by saying he would like more people participating in wrestling because, "You can help yourself and your school to develop something that will reward you and our community."

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.