ILWACO - Lanie Kary was a unanimous pick for first-team Trico League honors and was tabbed as the girls' Most Valuable Player and Matt Kaino was voted to the boys' first-team all-league squad. Kary led the third-place Lady Fishermen with 19.8 points per game and had 16 double-doubles in scoring and rebounding on the season. Kaino averaged 10.6 points per game and was a standout defensive player and floor leader for the Fishermen.

Second-team honors went to Vallori Crowston for the Lady Fishermen and Ryan Blake for the Ilwaco boys. Crowston averaged 8.8 points per game and led her team in assists and steals and Blake averaged 15.3 points per game and topped the Fishermen in rebounds.

Honorable mention went to Melany Bliss (4.3 points per game) on the girls' side and to Karl Oman (10.8 points per game) and Jack Whealdon (8.3 points per game) for the boys' team.

Other girls on the first team were Erika Ziegler and Lacey Kruse of White Salmon, Lacey Seidl of Castle Rock, and Lauren Baker and Brooke Gaston of LaCenter. Boys MVP was Clint Burgoyne of Castle Rock and teammate Zack Gehring joined him on the first team along with Robby Sanders of Kalama, Troy Stump of Stevenson, Tanner Roggenkamp of LaCenter, and Kent Shelley of White Salmon.

The squads were voted on by the league's coaches.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.