ILWACO - When discussing statistics for the Fishermen football team, the talk begins and ends with Eddie Knick. The senior running back gained 1,287 yards from scrimmage on 197 carries (6.5 yards per carry) and scored 12 touchdowns. He finished his career with a total of 4,887 yards rushing and could have easily gone over the 5,000 yard mark against a hapless Winlock squad in his final contest. He carried the football 725 times during his 40 games at IHS, averaging 6.7 yards per carry, and scored 45 touchdowns, all believed to be school records.

Knick's numbers as a junior were 1,203 yards in 196 carries and nine touchdowns, as a sophomore he had his best statistical season with 1,371 yards in 198 carries, and as a freshman he gained 1,026 yards in 161 tries and scored nine touchdowns.

For Ilwaco, who finished with a 3-7 mark, they were outscored 348-167 on the season. Opponents racked up an average of 356 total yards to 248 per game, had a total of 147 first downs to 110, and turned the football over 23 times to the Fishermen's 21 turnovers in nine games. (The Fishermen forfeited to Kalama.)

Ilwaco's Justin Short and Jake Nesbitt combined to complete 52 of 117 passes (44 percent) for 665 yards through the air, good for 5.7 yards per pass attempt. Matt Kaino was the leading receiver with 29 catches for 428 yards and an average of 14.8 yards per grab.

Kaino scored eight touchdowns and made seven of 12 extra point kicks (54 percent) for a total of 55 points. Jake Nesbitt was the second leading ground gainer, picking up 176 yards in 49 rushing attempts and he scored 20 points. Knick led all scorers with 76 points, including two two-point conversions.

Kalama dominated all-league voting as Sean McDonald was Trico MVP, offensive co-MVPs were Chris Pierce and Trevor McCain, defensive MVP was Mike LaRoy, and Jim Buchanan was coach of the year. Knick was named to the second-team Trico League all-star squad behind McCain, Pierce, LaCenter's Duke Kelly, and White Salmon's Taylor Champion.

Kaino was also tabbed for the second team behind first-team Ryan Knutz (Rochester), Zach Gehring (Castle Rock), Troy Stump (Stevenson) and Kyle Karnofski (Castle Rock). Nesbitt received honorable mention honors for his play at quarterback, tight end and fullback.

No Lady Fishermen volleyball players were named to the first or second Trico team or honorable mention.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.