NASELLE - The Naselle High School Varsity Sports Awards for nine sports programs were presented at an event held in the Naselle High School commons last Wednesday, May. 31. Athletic Director Jon Tienhaara introduced the coaches of the nine sports, who in turn presented the awards to the student athletes, a large number of who are also on the NHS Honor Roll.

Starting with the fall sports season, the football and basketball cheerleaders were presented their awards by coach Chandra Shrives. The four members of the cheerleading squad are all on the honor roll. The Captain's Award was presented to Karissa Sultemeier who was a football and basketball cheerleader for four years.

Coach Scott Smith presented the cross country awards to the team members, 13 of which are on the honor roll. Smith presented special awards to the following: Most Inspirational Male: Dustin Parker; Most Inspirational Female: Elsa Butchart; Top Female Runner: Kelsey Fletcher; Top Male Runner: Evan Hendrickson; Rookie of the Year: Robert Romaine.

The football awards were presented by coach Robin Andrea. Individual awards presented included: Outstanding Lineman: Brad Erickson; Captains Award: Brad Erickson; Outstanding Back: Tony Ruch; Coaches Award: Randy Johnson; All League Honorable Mention: Randy Johnson, Jason Gradt, Brad Erickson.

All 10 members of the varsity volleyball program are on the honor roll and were recognized by coach Debbie Denny. Individual honors were Captain's Award: Brittanie Vaughn and Katherine Herrold; Coaches Award: Sylvia Herrold; Most Inspirational: Katherine Herrold; Top Server: Jamie Bighill.

The volleyball team finished as league co-champions for the third year, while receiving the Pacific League's Sportsmanship Award. They were second in district, and earned a trip to state. Players earning All-League honors were Katherine Herrold, Brittanie Vaughn, and Sylvia Herrold while Jamie Bighill earned all league honorable mention.

Moving into the winter sports season, boys' basketball coach Brian Macy honored the 11 member team that came within an overtime loss of going to the state tournament. Six of those team members are on the honor roll. Individual awards were, Most Valuable Player: Evan Hendrickson, Most Valuable Player; Rick Johnson; Most Improved: Nate Sultemeier; Coaches Award: Conor Smith; Most Inspirational: Rick Johnson. All League Honors went to Evan Hendrickson, Rick Johnson, Kyle Burkhalter and All League Honorable Mention to Aoy Marion.

Girls' basketball awards were presented by coach Bob Torppa. Ten of the team members are on the honor roll. Individual awards went to Most Inspirational: Cheryl Steppe; Most Improved: Brandi Keightley; Defensive Award: Erin Saari; Most Outstanding: Sylvia Herrold; Coaches Award: Kellyn Pakenen. All League Honors went to Sylvia Herrold and All League Honorable Mention went to Erin Saari, Cheryl Steppe, and Brandi Keightley.

The spring sports season was led off by the presentation of girls' fastpitch awards by coach Chris Clark. Eight team members are on the honor roll. Individual awards went to Most Inspirational: Kellyn Pakenen; Offensive Award: Colette Beaulaurier; Defensive Award: Brandi Keightley; Most Valuable Player: Britannie Vaughn. All League honors went to Brittanie Vaughn and Colette Beaulaurier.

Boys' baseball awards were presented by assistant coach Randy Lindstrom who was the designated hitter for coach Pete Donlon who was in Hawaii. Six of the baseball team members are on the honor roll. Lindstrom presented individual awards to the team that qualified for the District Tournament for the first time in five years. Individual Awards went to Pitchers Award: Matt Blain; Pitchers Award: Matt Chavez; Offensive Player Award: Jason Gradt; Defensive Player Award: Doug Wise; Captains Award: Doug Wise; Captains Award: Aoy Marion. All League Honors went to Doug Wise and Honorable Mention All League Honors went to Aoy Marion, Randy Johnson, Matt Chavez, Matt Blain, and Jason Gradt.

The track awards were presented by coach Debbie Denny to members of the team which represented NHS at the state track meet for the 28th year in succession. Erin Saari was the only Comet to finish among the award winners at state with a girls' pole vault third place award. Twenty-one of the team members are on the honor roll. Individual Awards went to Team Award: Katherine Herrold (Who scored 251 individual points in four years); Most Inspirational: Kelsey Fletcher; Coaches Award: Mayu Takami; Coaches Award: Preston Torppa; Coaches Award: Elsa Butchart; Inspirational Award: Dustin Parker.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.