NASELLE — Accolades continue for Jeff Eaton, who retired this spring after more than 30 years coaching the Comets football team.

He was named 1B football coach of the year by the Seattle Seahawks.

The covid restrictions pushed high school football to the early spring. Naselle won all six of its games and Eaton retired with the District championship.

The report noted that the Seahawks usually single out one coach for recognition but expanded this year’s selections to all WIAA levels because of the extra effort coaches and teams have made during the pandemic disruption.

Southwest Washington was well represented in the selections described by web page contributor Jordan Duncan.

He highlighted the achievements of 2B coach of the year Eric Hansen, who led Wahkiakum to a 5-0 record. Other regional winners were John Lambert at La Center (1A), and Rick Steele at Hockinson (2A).

The bigger schools were represented by Cameron Robak at Spanaway (3A) and Tom Tri at Lake Stevens (4A).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.