District trophy

The Naselle boys basketball team hoisted the District IV 1B trophy after defeating Taholah for the title earlier this month. Many key players have now been honored by the district.

NASELLE — Naselle center Jacob Eaton was named Columbia Valley League Player of the Year after leading the Comets to an 8-0 league season. It was Eaton’s second straight season winning the award, though the name for the honor changed from MVP to Player of the Year this season.

Besides winning the league title, the Comets won the district championship for the first time since 1993 thanks to Eaton’s rebounding and interior scoring.

Guards Antonio Nolan and Ethan Lindstrom were named First Team All-League. Corey Gregory, a shot-blocker and three-point shooter who had 20 points in a quarter against Mary M. Knight, was named Second Team. Forward Cole Dorman joined him on the Second Team. Kolby Glenn, a point guard who worked his way back from a bad ankle injury suffered early in the season opener, was named Honorable Mention. Glenn made six three-pointers against Knappa and seven more against Three Rivers Christian.

Brian Macy won Coach of the Year.

Joining Nolan and Lindstrom on First Team were Three Rivers Christian’s Wyatt Richards and Ryan Ransom and Firm Foundation’s Daniel Kogler.

Aaron Mead is a sports writer for the Chinook Observer. Contact him at 360-642-8181 or aaroncmead@gmail.com.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.