TACOMA - Matt Bonney earned an eighth-place medal at Mat Classic XV last Saturday in the Tacoma Dome on the strength of two victories and three defeats. Jerry Matzen and Jake Pederson both dropped their first two bouts at the state wrestling match on Friday to finish out of the money for Ilwaco.

Bonney began by losing 8-13 to Rory Lee of Klahowya before going on a two-bout win streak. Bonney, wrestling at 189, pinned Mick Gause from East Valley of Yakima and out-pointed Andy DeLeon of Othello 10-4 to qualify for the medal round.

Lakeside's Matt Roach defeated Bonney in a tight match, 2-6 and Lee came back to win by a much closer count, 5-8, in the bout for seventh and eighth place. Bonney finishes his season with a 25-7 record.

Coach Tom Hornbuckle said, "Matt got in the groove after his first match, but ran up against some pretty tough competition. Our Region won only one championship to give you an idea of how strong the state wrestling competition is."

Matzen, wrestling at 119, was defeated 5-17 by Mt. Baker's Dustin Chellson and lost a hard-fought bout to Colville's Dustin James 2-7. Matzen completes his year with a 18-10 mark. "Jerry wrestled about as well as he is capable of, but just couldn't get past the opponents he drew," Hornbuckle commented.

Pederson was pinned twice in his state tourney appearance, losing in :42 to Logan Tallon of Deer Park and in 2:40 to Mac Pederson of Lakewood. Jake Pederson ends his year with a 21-10 record in the 275 pound weight classification. "Jake got his head and arm caught in both matches and really didn't get a chance to show what he could do."

Bonney's two victories earned the Fishermen five team points in the Mat Classic. Coach Hornbuckle said, "Matt had quite an accomplishment by winning a medal at the 2A level. Next season Jerry, Jake, Derek Duffy, and some of our other wrestlers will hopefully be able to do the same."

Below are the final records for Ilwaco High School wrestlers for the 2003 season:

Jerry Matzen 18-10

Derek Duffy 20-9

David Alvarez 1-14

Isaac Mendez 6-13

Sean Brady 2-19

Matt Bonney 25-7

Ray Coulston 5-19

Jake Pederson 21-10

Bobby Crislip 7-13

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.